Understanding Utah’s New 'Transmission Index'

Governor Gary Herbert announced major changes to the state's COVID-19 response on Tuesday. Our color-coded scale is being replaced by a new transmission index, which will place each county in one of 3 levels: High, Moderate or Low.

Each county’s rank will be updated weekly (every Thursday). The levels correspond directly to case rates, positive rates, and ICU utilization. 

Here’s the breakdown of the 7-day rolling average of positive test factor:

High: more than 13%

Moderate: 6-12%

Low: less than 6%

A 2-Week Public Health Order is Now in Place:

Masks are required for all counties in the High and Moderate levels until October 29. Masks are “strongly recommended” in counties that are in the Low level. 

If you live in a High or Moderate Transmission area - social gatherings are limited to no more than 10 people. 

Everyone will be required to wear masks while attending public gatherings such as theater, sporting events, concerts or weddings - no matter which level a county is currently in.

Here are the current categories:

HIGH: Cache, Garfield, Juab, Salt Lake and Utah counties 

MODERATE: Box Elder, Carbon, Davis, Grand, Iron, Millard, Morgan, San Juan, Sanpete, Sevier, Summit, Tooele, Uintah, Washington

LOW: Beaver, Daggett, Duchesne, Emery, Kane, Piute, Rich and Wayne counties 


Photo: Big Stock Photo

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content